Brain Fuzzies

Everyone always blames Winter for over-staying its welcome, but is it possible that we’re looking at it all wrong?  What if Winter isn’t to blame, but Spring?  What if Winter really wants to part ways, but Spring, ever-so-fickle, is simply throwing a temper tantrum, upset that so many of us ignore its call and continue about our everyday lives?  Perhaps Spring, in a desperate, selfish effort to grow our affections for it, is trying to make us long for it more and more by appearing for a few days before disappearing again without a trace, leaving us to pine for it and wonder, ‘Where has Spring gone?’  Winter, then, ever-dutiful, decides that, well, some season has to stick around, and if Spring won’t do its job properly, then what choice does Winter have but to fill in during Spring’s absence?  Poor Winter…receiving all the blame for Spring’s selfishness…

Anyway.  What was I supposed to be talking about?  *glances at title*  Ah yes, brain fuzzies.

I hate brain fuzzies.  Well, I imagine most people probably do.  After all, they make it impossible to concentrate, cause a person to become easily distracted, and dry up creative juices.  When brain fuzzies invade, there’s little room for anything else.

Because of these brain fuzzies, I’ve been finding it immensely difficult to focus on writing.  I don’t currently have a writing project that I’m actively working on, and trying to decide on one is proving difficult.  I have old ideas I can look to, but…eh.  And I’m able to come up with new ideas, too, but they all seem to lose their luster after a few days.

I think part of my problem is that my writing life lacks the structure it had when I was in college.  For a college paper, I needed to be able to form ideas, organize those ideas, and write them out in a logical, meaningful way in order to get my point across as clearly as possible.  It wasn’t creative writing, of course, but it forced me to view writing in general as a process — an idea that transferred over into the creative writing realm.

I think I could benefit from giving myself a writing project that forces myself to structure my thoughts more.  I need to re-introduce a bit of discipline into my writing routine.  I have a nonfiction idea buzzing around in my head and, while it won’t be fun to write about, it’s a topic that interests me, at least.  I don’t really know how to write a nonfiction book, as I’ve never looked into it and never had any previous desire to write nonfiction, but I think it might be worth looking into.  Even if I don’t get anywhere with it, thinking along the lines of research and structure might help drive the brain fuzzies away, opening my mind up to more creative endeavors, as well.

I still have to read up on the topic a little more before I can decide for sure whether or not I’ll be able to write on it.  If I do decide to pursue this project, I’ll post about it then.  In the meantime, I also have a few short story ideas that I plan to work on.  I haven’t written any new short stories lately, but I do enjoy writing them.  And with my (currently) limited attention span, I’m probably more capable of finishing a short story right now than a novel.

Anyway, that’s that.  Now I’m curious.  Has anyone reading this experienced brain fuzzies in the recent past?  And if so, what did you do to clear them up?  Or, if you’re currently experiencing brain fuzzies, how do you plan on driving them out?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Brain Fuzzies

  1. Heh. I don’t even have to tell you about my brain fuzzies. I think that’s all that’s in my head 😛 I’d been working on that fantasy one and now my mind wants to transition back to my old historical. Oh and don’t forget the two short stories that I can’t decide between… 😛

    • Yeah…that happens to me a lot, too, even when my writing routine is at its most structured. There is no better inspiration for a story than telling yourself not to think about it because you’re supposed to be working on a completely unrelated story. 😛

  2. Sometimes I feel like I’m in perpetual brain fuzzies. The day’s seem feel like they go back twice a fast and I get half as much done.

  3. Chris

    Ahh, the impetuous youth! So eager to drive out a friend. Yes, a friend. Brain fuzzies, I suspect, are a natural coping mechanism carefully crafted by eons of evolution. Consider the cave dwelling ancestors, who, having spent the day outrunning/thinking the sabertooth are reduced to sitting around the cave fire in the evening. Once the day is retold there is nothing else. BORING! The fuzzies creep in. Just coping with the adrenaline letdown. Consider the modern cubicle dweller. A day of intense pressure/scrutiny and, once home, brain fuzzies are welcome. Again, coping with the letdown. The youth, ever eager to test themselves and prove worth fend off the fuzzies with evangelistic zeal. Now, consider “old” people. We have weathered much of life’s storm and have had all the adrenaline rush we can handle. Come on fuzzies! The solitude fuzzies afford is welcome respite. So, fend of the fuzzies as well as you might, but remember, they will, one day, be your friend. Until that time when life’s adrenaline rushes have taken their toll I suggest activity as the solution toward the most efficient means of doing the fending off. Boredom is the root challenge to overcome. Venturing out of the cave to confront other than the sabertooth gives a new story/perspective to discuss around the fire the next night. Me….things are getting fuzzy.

    • Haha, I hadn’t thought of it that way before, but you make a good point. I look forward to the day when I can regard brain fuzzies as a friend. In the meantime, I suspect you’re also right in saying that activity is the best solution for fending them off.

Leave a Reply

