To 50K…and Beyond?

I’m having a little debate with myself right now. I know that NaNoWriMo is tough enough already — writing 50,000 words in one month is no easy task. But there’s some small part of me that wonders if, maybe, just maybe, I should aim for a bit of a higher word count this year. Like, twice as high.

Last year, I had a tough time finishing my 50,000 novel. It was not caused by lack of time, however. If anything, it was partially caused by having too much time. When I was in college, November meant balancing NaNo with multiple papers and exams, along with regular homework. I also had a few on-campus jobs. Now that I’ve graduated and, well, only do a little bit of freelance work (as I presently don’t have full-time work) my schedule is not quite so packed. And, as I learned last year around November, an excess of free time usually means that I get distracted far more easily than I do when I’m racing around trying to get everything finished. Of course, there were other things that made NaNoWriMo a little harder to focus on last year than usual, but having too much time during the day probably didn’t help.

That’s why a part of me wants to make it a bit harder for myself. If I feel more challenged, and if I have a much tougher goal, I might feel more pressure to push through. And pressure, in this instance, is a good motivator. :P

Of course, I’d probably have to write two novels if I did things this way. I can’t do a 100,000 word book, especially not with the plot I’ll be working with next month. But, since my project this year is actually supposed to be book one of a short series (assuming I like it well enough to press forward with the rest), I could always aim for finishing the first two books this November. Or, I could even take on one of my “back burner” projects that I almost considered doing for NaNo, but just narrowly decided against. Either way, coming up with enough story material to complete 100K wouldn’t be an issue.

Granted, there’s a good chance that I won’t actually do this. It’s a bit intimidating, and a little crazy to expect myself to be able to write that much in one month. Still…is it odd that I find it tempting? Haha.

Well, I’ll decide for sure before November starts. I need to know what my goal is before I begin, so I know how to pace myself.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “To 50K…and Beyond?

  1. You’re crazy sis! But if anyone can do it you can :)

  2. Cindy Lowe

    That’s a high bar you’re setting for yourself, Caitlynn, and I admire you for it. I agree with Dara…if anyone can do it, you can. :)

  3. Hehe…well, thank you both for your confidence in me. :)

Leave a Reply

