Imagination Overload

It happens every year. I get myself all worked up, planning and preparing for my NaNoWriMo project, and just when I should be concentrating on it the most, something triggers my imagination and sends it flying off in a completely different direction with a completely different story. Sigh.

Even so, I don’t plan on changing my NaNoWriMo project. I’ve named characters, I’ve outlined, and I’ve planned like mad. I am NOT changing my mind. Plus, it’s not like I’ve entirely lost interest in the novel I was planning on writing this coming November. It’s just that I’ve gained renewed interest in other novel ideas that, prior to now, wouldn’t cooperate with me whenever I’d sit down to think them over.

I don’t know what it is or why my mind chooses to work this way. As best as I can figure it, it’s just that my imagination, once triggered, likes to run wild. I start the creative juices flowing on one project, but after being stopped up for so long, those creative juices refuse to flow in an orderly, manageable stream and instead, rush out so rapidly that they threaten to drown me.

The nice thing about NaNoWriMo is that it introduces structure into what might otherwise be chaos. It forces me to tell myself, “Yes, I know that shiny new idea over there looks wonderful, but you’re not working on it, you’re working on this. Now focus, or else you won’t meet your daily word count.”

And really, I guess I shouldn’t complain. I can always scribble down a few notes on these other ideas now and come back to them later. In theory.

Anyone else ever have this issue, though? Or am I the only one whose mind goes into “imagination overload” whenever I tell myself to focus on one project?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Imagination Overload

  1. Jennifer

    Oh I think this happens to many many writers. Our ideas inspire new ones. Its great, but takes discpline to stick with current project. Some writers keep files for all these ideas. Good writing

Leave a Reply

